Chiefs Home


Peoria Chiefs 1954 Eastern Division Champs
Peoria Chiefs 1955 AARBL Champions
Peoria Chiefs 1957 AARBL Champions
Peoria Chiefs 1958 Eastern Division Champs
Peoria Chiefs 1959 Eastern Division Champs
Founded in 1969, the Topeka Sizzlers enter their 4th season in the USRL with virtually no hope of a post season berth

Founded in 1954, the inaugural season of the All American Retro Baseball League (“AARBL”), the Peoria Chiefs have been among the best teams in the league for each of their first six seasons.  So far, the Chiefs have posted five 100 plus win seasons, including a franchise best 107 wins during the inaugural 1954 season.  For their efforts, the Chiefs have collected five division crowns and won two AARBL Championships.  The 1959 season was another fine one in Peoria, but the Chiefs fell just short of their ultimate goal, another title.  After holding off their bitter rivals, the Wilmington Hornets, to win the Eastern Division by five games, the Chiefs met the Hill Valley Lightning Bolts in the World Series for a second consecutive season.  Unfortunately for the Chiefs, for the second year in a row, the Bolts had their number taking the series in six games.   


          Undeterred by their recent playoff failures, the Chiefs are already planning for what they hope will be a successful 1960 season.  Peoria has a number of promising youngsters in Bill Monbouquette, Jim Gentile, Tony Taylor, Earl Battey and Eddie Fisher.  Plus, the Chiefs retain the rights to veterans like Willie Mays, Vern Law, Roy Face, Harvey Haddix and Richie Ashburn.  So, check back often to see if the Chiefs have what it takes to compete for another league title. 

Peoria First Baseman Jim Gentile
Peoria Outfielder Willie Mays
Peoria Outfielder Richie Ashburn
Peoria Pitcher Vern Law